

March 18, 2020

The Honorable Thomas Saylor Chief Justice Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Judicial Center 601 Commonwealth Avenue Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17106

Dear Justice Saylor:

As you are aware, Pennsylvania is facing an unprecedented crisis. The COVID-19 pandemic is requiring all levels of government to activate emergency plans.

The Judiciary is not immune to these ever changing circumstances. Since Montgomery County requested waiver from some Judicial Rules, other courts have followed suit. Your March 16, 2020 order declaring a General Statewide Judicial Emergency has been helpful in ensuring county courts are making decisions based on what they are seeing on the ground in their counties.

Unfortunately, there is discrepancy between what is covered and not covered when a judicial district requests a judicial emergency. Some judicial districts, such as Montgomery and Philadelphia, have expressly prohibited evictions during this pandemic, while other orders have been less specific.

At this time of crisis, no individual or family should have to worry about whether or not they will be able to stay in their home or apartment. Many people across the nation are being affected by the shut down of businesses. For individuals and families, who often live pay check to pay check, these closures are forcing them to make the difficult decision of feeding their family or paying rent.

During these times, the community looks to leaders like us to provide them peace of mind. You have shown the willingness to take action.

We are requesting that you issue a statewide judicial order postponing all evictions and mortgage foreclosures until this pandemic has passed. This order will give many Commonwealth citizens the peace of mind they need during a confusing and scary period.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

ay losta

Senator Jay Costa Democratic Leader 43rd Senatorial District

Senator Anthony H. Williams Senate Democratic Whip 8th Senatorial District

Senator Lawrence Farnese Democratic Caucus Secretary 1st Senatorial District

Judith L. Ochward

Senator Judith L. Schwank Democratic Vice-Chair Senate Appropriations Committee 11th Senatorial District

Senator James Brewster 45th Senatorial District

Senator Vincent J. Hughes Democratic Chair Senate Appropriations Committee 7th Senatorial District

re Aporto

Senator Wayne D. Fontana Democratic Caucus Chairman 42nd Senatorial District

Blake

Senator John Blake Democratic Caucus Administrator 22nd Senatorial District

Senator Lisa M. Boscola Democratic Caucus Policy Chair 18th Senatorial District

Senator Maria Collett 12th Senatorial District

Ì. L. E. L

Senator Andrew Dinniman 19th Senatorial District

Senator Pam Iovino 37th Senatorial District

Senator Katie Muth 44th Senatorial District

Au

Senator Steve Santarsiero 10th Senatorial District

Christine M Tartaglione

Senator Christine M. Tartaglione 2nd Senatorial District



Senator Art Haywood 4th Senatorial District

Senator Tim Kearney 26th Senatorial District

Ĵ.

Senator John Sabatina 5th Senatorial District

Senator Sharif Street 3rd Senatorial District

ndry M. Williams

Senator Lindsey Williams 38th Senatorial District